top of page

Photographic Production – Imagining Reality 3

After making a U-turn on my original project, I have succeeded in completing my new one, ‘University of Reality’. University of Reality is a series that represents the real student who is often sanitised to conform to the prospectus propaganda created by Universities to market an ideal. University is treated more of a product that you buy, pressured by society, family and job requirements, when in reality it should be an investment to better your life. I designed my press kit to echo the style of prospectuses, using typography which also resonates that and inspired by real-life prospectuses.

Prospectuses on Google


My press kit



My press kit

I originally made the mistake of highlighting student stereotypes rather than playing on them, which took the message I wanted to send down the wrong route. I discussed this with my lecturer who thought I should try and stay away from reinforcing stereotypes, which I agreed. I then took more photos which were captured in real-life moments to show authenticity and again, the real student. They were shot with natural lighting, edited to have a vignette effect to emphasise a look through the lens, shying away from the high-key style prospectuses.

Below are my final images:


study



putting on shoes



relaxing



cooking



gaming


University of Reality


1 view0 comments
bottom of page